Desert Bus 10!

This year I donated 2 cat cubes to Desert Bus For Hope, a blue D6 that will be a giveaway (between 5 p.m. and 9 p.m. November 14th) and a Desert Bus 10 cube that will be auctioned live at 2 a.m eastern on November 13. Having a craft in a live auction is literally a dream come true, so I’m really excited for that. Thanks to Stephen Schmidt Photography for taking such great photos for these.

Edit 1: The Desert Bus cube went for $1250 at auction!

cubes

The Desert Bus cube is unlike one I’ve ever done before as most of the design is on the inside rather than the outside. It’s also a lot more intricate – getting the lettering right was tricky. I won’t go through every single step, but here are a few of the making-of pictures.

Usually I’ll print out a pattern, cut it out, trace it to interfacing, and cut it out from fabric, but the letters have such a specific look to them that I didn’t want to lose the precision from tracing multiple times. To get the letters/logo correct, I printed them directly on to the paper side of the fusible interfacing from my printer. It worked really well, but on one try the webbing got caught around a roller in my printer and it hasn’t been quite the same since, so proceed with caution.

20160716_184044

Letter spacing was also kind of tricky, so I used a paper pattern to match those up.

Everything laid out before putting the sides of the cube together:

20160723_150547

The D6 was a little easier to put together just because I didn’t have to match up any horizontal lines between sides of the cube. For the numbers,  I ended up scanning a D6 to make a pattern as I couldn’t find a font to match the Chessex die. This was the only in-progress pic I took:

20160505_194920

As always, I’m so hyped for Desert Bus and glad that I’ve been able to contribute for the past 3 years. It only takes one $7 donation to Child’s Play Charity to help a kid, and if these cubes can raise ~$1500 this year I’ll be on track to help 1000 kids with something as silly as cat beds, which is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

